Skip to content
ChainringClub

Favero Assioma vs Garmin Rally

Both publish ±1% accuracy. Neither publishes the validation behind it. So this comparison is built on the things that are published and that you cannot change later — starting with which cleat you are marrying.

A close-up of a bicycle pedal and crank arm.
By Stephen V.Published October 11, 2026How we research

Heads up: we earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never decides what makes the list — here’s how that works.

Quick picks

Tap any row for the full write-up. Specs are the manufacturer's own published claims, read on 18 August 2026, via the power meter roundup.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Favero Assioma DUO

Favero Assioma DUO

The one to buy for most riders: two sensors, a published weight, and roughly half what the Garmin dual-sided equivalent costs.

Top pick
Two-sided data at the lowest price of entry
2
Garmin Rally RS210

Garmin Rally RS210

Nearly twice the price for one sensor fewer than the Assioma — but it publishes its cleat standard, and that is worth real money if you already own the shoes.

Keeping the SPD-SL cleats you already ride
3
Wahoo POWRLINK Zero

Wahoo POWRLINK Zero

The skip, and the roundup says so too: it costs within a rounding error of the dual-sided Assioma and measures one leg.

Riders already committed to Speedplay cleats
4
4iiii Precision Power Meter

4iiii Precision Power Meter

The cheapest honest way into power, and the only one here that does not touch your pedals or your shoes at all.

Shimano crank owners who want to change nothing else

Buy the Favero Assioma DUO unless you already ride Shimano SPD-SL, in which case the Garmin Rally RS210 saves you a shoe-and-cleat replacement that may well cost more than the price difference. That is the whole decision, and notice what is not in it: accuracy. There is a reason.

All four products on this page publish ±1% accuracy.Favero, Garmin, Wahoo and 4iiii, identical figure, and in the wider catalog the Magene crankset publishes ±1% too. Five products, one number. Not one of those makers publishes the test protocol, the reference device, the temperature range or the load range behind it, and ±1% of what is not stated either — of reading, of full scale, under what conditions. Our power meter roundup has a whole section on what ±1% actually claims, and the short version is that it is an industry convention rather than a comparable measurement. So we will not rank these on it, and anyone who does is ranking four identical numbers.

What actually separates them, in order of how much it costs you

One: the cleat. This is the expensive one and almost nobody leads with it. A power meter pedal is a pedal, so buying one is choosing a cleat standard, and a cleat standard is choosing shoes. If you own three pairs of SPD-SL shoes, a pedal on a different standard costs you the pedals plusthree pairs of cleats, and possibly the shoes. Garmin publishes “Shimano SPD-SL” in the Rally listing title. Favero publishes nothing about the interface in anything we can cite. Wahoo publishes Speedplay by naming the product. That is one of three telling you what you are committing to.

Two: how many legs get measured.The Assioma is dual-sided — a sensor in each pedal. The Rally RS210 is Garmin’s dual-sensing single-sided tier, the Wahoo is a left-sided single pedal, and the 4iiii is a left-arm sensor. Only one of the four measures both legs, and it is the cheapest of the two pedal systems. If left/right balance is why you are buying a power meter, the comparison is over at this line.

Three: the battery format.Published figures: 800 hours on a replaceable coin cell (4iiii), up to 90 hours rechargeable (Rally), up to 75 (Wahoo), 50+ (Assioma). The hours matter less than the format — a CR2032 is replaceable in a petrol station, a proprietary magnetic charger is one more cable to lose. Garmin also publishes a 15 minute charge for 12 hours of riding, which is the single most practically useful battery figure on this page.

Four: where it has to fit. Pedals fit any bike and move between bikes in two minutes. The 4iiii is bonded to a specific Shimano crank arm at a specific length, so the fitment question moves to your chainset. Neither is better; they are different kinds of commitment, and our power meter types explainer covers what each mounting position can and cannot measure.

Every published figure, side by side

Quoted from the manufacturer specifications and live listing titles recorded on our power meter roundup. Blank means unpublished, and there are more blanks than people expect.

Published specifications, four meters

One column is identical across all four rows, which is why it cannot be the deciding column. Two products publish a weight. One publishes a cleat standard. One publishes an ingress rating.

ProductAccuracy claimLegs measuredBatteryWeightCleat standardIngress
Favero Assioma DUO±1%Two50+ h rechargeable151.5 g / pedalNot publishedIP67
Garmin Rally RS210±1%One (dual-sensing)Up to 90 h; 15 min → 12 hNot publishedShimano SPD-SLNot published
Wahoo POWRLINK Zero±1%One (left)Up to 75 hNot publishedSpeedplay (by name)Not published
4iiii Precision 3+±1%One (left arm)800 h CR20329 g, 5.5 mmn/a — crank mountedNot published

Accuracy is greyed on purpose: it is published identically by all four makers with no protocol, reference device or condition range behind any of them, so it carries no comparative information. “Not published” means the maker does not state it in the specifications or listing text we hold — it does not mean the product lacks the property, and we are not going to supply a number nobody printed.

The picks, in detail

1

Favero Assioma DUO

Top pick
Favero Assioma DUO
$539.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad

Best for: Two-sided data at the lowest price of entry

The one to buy for most riders: two sensors, a published weight, and roughly half what the Garmin dual-sided equivalent costs.

  • Manufacturer: ±1% accuracy
  • Manufacturer: 151.5 g per pedal
  • Manufacturer: 50+ hours per charge
  • Manufacturer: IP67, ANT+ and Bluetooth

On the power meter roundupthis is the top pick, and the reasoning there is the same as here: it is the only dual-sided option in the catalog that does not cost as much as a wheelset. What this page adds is the thing the roundup’s ranking axis does not reach — Favero publishes a weight, a battery figure, an IP rating and two protocols, and publishes nothing at all about which cleat the pedal body takes. That is the single most consequential unpublished fact in this comparison, because the cleat decides your shoes and your shoes are not a component you swap casually. Our cleat standards comparison is the page to read before you commit.

Good

  • Genuinely dual-sided — a sensor in each pedal, so left/right balance is measured rather than doubled from one leg
  • 151.5 g per pedal is published, and it is the only pedal figure on this page you can compare against the pedals already on your bike
  • IP67 is a published ingress rating, which on a component that lives 15 cm from a wet road is the most practically useful spec Favero prints
  • ANT+ and Bluetooth both published, so it pairs with any head unit on our computers roundup rather than one brand's

Less good

  • Favero does not publish the cleat standard anywhere we can cite — the live listing title is five words long and the manufacturer specs we hold cover accuracy, weight, battery and connectivity but not the interface. Find that out before you order, because it decides what shoes you can ride
  • 50+ hours per charge is the shortest published battery life of the two pedal systems here, and “50+” is an open-ended figure rather than a bounded one
  • Rechargeable means a proprietary magnetic charger to lose, against the 4iiii's coin cell
  • ±1% is published with no validation study behind it, exactly as with every other product on this page

Skip it if: You are already deep into a cleat system and unwilling to change, or you own a Garmin head unit and want its cycling dynamics metrics specifically. Both are good reasons to pay more for the Rally, and neither is about accuracy.

2

Garmin Rally RS210

Garmin Rally RS210
$899.99 · View on Amazon

$1,199.99 −25%

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad

Best for: Keeping the SPD-SL cleats you already ride

Nearly twice the price for one sensor fewer than the Assioma — but it publishes its cleat standard, and that is worth real money if you already own the shoes.

  • Manufacturer: ±1% accuracy
  • Manufacturer: up to 90 hours per charge
  • Manufacturer: 15 min charge → 12 hours
  • Listing: Shimano SPD-SL pedal bodies

The honest case for the Rally is not performance, it is not having to replace your shoes. If you are on SPD-SL now, this listing is the only one on the page that tells you, in its own title, that you can keep your cleats. On a purchase this size that is a real saving and a real convenience, and it is the only dimension on which this product clearly beats the top pick. Garmin’s head units are ranked on our computers roundup, and which Garmin is a separate decision.

Good

  • The listing publishes “Shimano SPD-SL” pedal bodies — the only cleat standard stated by any product on this page, and the thing that lets you buy without changing shoes
  • Up to 90 hours per charge published, the longest of the two rechargeable pedal systems here
  • A published 15 minute charge for 12 hours of riding, which is a genuinely useful figure the night before a long ride
  • “Dual-Sensing” is published in the listing title, and on a Garmin head unit it feeds the cycling dynamics metrics Garmin's own ecosystem exposes

Less good

  • RS210 is Garmin's single-sided-with-dual-sensing tier, not a two-power-meter set — read the model suffix carefully, because Garmin's naming across the Rally range is the easiest thing to get wrong here
  • No published weight, anywhere — which on a pedal is an unusual omission and makes it uncomparable against the 151.5 g Favero publishes
  • No published ingress rating, against the Assioma's IP67
  • Substantially more expensive than the dual-sided Assioma, and the thing you are buying is compatibility rather than data

Skip it if: You have no Garmin head unit and no SPD-SL shoes. Strip those two away and you are paying a premium for a published battery figure, which is not where the value is.

4

4iiii Precision Power Meter

4iiii Precision Power Meter
$449.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad

Best for: Shimano crank owners who want to change nothing else

The cheapest honest way into power, and the only one here that does not touch your pedals or your shoes at all.

  • Manufacturer: ±1% accuracy
  • Manufacturer: 9 g, 5.5 mm profile
  • Manufacturer: 800-hour CR2032 battery
  • Listing: left-side, Ultegra 8100 172.5 mm arm

Good

  • 9 g and a 5.5 mm profile published — it is a sensor bonded to a crank arm, so there is no cleat decision and no pedal to re-learn
  • An 800-hour CR2032 battery is the longest published battery life on this page by a wide margin, and a coin cell is replaceable anywhere
  • The listing publishes the exact crank it comes on — Ultegra 8100, 172.5 mm — which is more fitment specificity than any pedal here offers
  • Apple Find My compatibility is published, which is an odd feature on a power meter and a genuinely useful one on an expensive bike

Less good

  • Left-side only: one leg measured and doubled, same structural limitation as the Wahoo
  • You are buying a crank arm, so the fitment question moves from your shoes to your bottom bracket and chainset — check your crank length and spindle before ordering
  • ANT+ only in the listing text, with no Bluetooth stated, which matters if your head unit is Bluetooth-only
  • A bonded sensor is not transferable between bikes the way a pedal is

Skip it if: You own more than one bike you want power on, or you are not on a compatible Shimano crank. A pedal moves between bikes in two minutes; a bonded crank arm does not move at all.

What actually decides this purchase

Read the model suffix twice

This is the most common expensive mistake in the category. Garmin’s Rally range uses suffixes to encode both the cleat standard and whether you get one sensor or two, and the listing in our catalog is the RS210— the single-sided, dual-sensing, Shimano SPD-SL version. Favero’s naming does the same job with the words DUO and UNO. If you have budgeted for two-sided power, check which product is actually in your basket before you pay.

Find out the cleat standard before you order the Assioma

We are being explicit about this rather than quietly leaving it out. Favero’s Amazon listing title is five words long and the manufacturer specifications we hold cover accuracy, mass, battery life and connectivity. None of them states the cleat interface, so we are not going to tell you which cleat it takes— that would be a claim from memory, which is the one thing this site does not do. Check Favero’s own product documentation or the retailer page before you commit, because this is the decision that determines your shoes.

One leg doubled is not left/right balance

Three of the four products here measure the left side and double it. That produces a total power number that is usually fine for training, and a left/right balance number that is structurally 50/50 because it was calculated, not measured. If balance is the reason you are buying, the Assioma is the only option on this page, and it is also the cheaper of the two pedal systems — which is the single cleanest argument in this whole comparison.

What we are not going to tell you

Which one is more accurate. Four identical published claims, zero published validation. We have not compared any of these against a reference device, nobody we can cite has published such a comparison for these specific models, and the figure itself is not defined by its publishers.

Which one is more reliable. No maker publishes a failure rate, a warranty claim rate or a service interval. Forum consensus exists; published data does not.

What either weighs installed.Garmin publishes no pedal weight at all, so the one real weight comparison available here is Favero’s 151.5 g per pedal against the pedals already on your bike — our pedal roundup has those figures where the makers publish them.

And the standing disclosure: we have not ridden, installed or measured any of these. Every figure on this page is quoted from the manufacturer’s own published specification or the live Amazon listing title, recorded on 18 August 2026.

Common questions

Favero Assioma or Garmin Rally — which should I buy?

The Assioma DUO for most riders: it measures both legs, publishes a weight and an IP67 rating, and costs substantially less than the Garmin. Buy the Rally RS210 if you already ride Shimano SPD-SL — it is the only product on this page that publishes its cleat standard, and keeping your existing shoes and cleats can be worth more than the price difference. Accuracy is not a tiebreaker: both publish ±1%.

Is the Garmin Rally RS210 dual-sided?

No. RS210 is Garmin’s single-sided, dual-sensing tier — the listing publishes “Dual-Sensing Power Meter”, which is not the same as two power meters. If you want both legs measured, the Assioma DUO on this page does it, and it is the cheaper of the two. Read the model suffix carefully; this is the most expensive mistake available in this category.

Is ±1% accuracy actually meaningful?

Not as a way of choosing between these products, because every one of them publishes the same figure. None of the makers publishes the test protocol, the reference device, the temperature range or the load range behind it, and none states whether it is ±1% of reading or of full scale. It is an industry convention. Our power meter roundup goes through what the claim does and does not say.

What cleats do Favero Assioma pedals use?

We are not going to answer that from memory, and we would rather say so than guess. Favero’s Amazon listing title is five words long, and the manufacturer specifications we hold for this product cover accuracy, weight, battery life and connectivity — not the cleat interface. Check Favero’s own documentation before you order, because the cleat standard decides which shoes you can ride. Our cleat standards comparison explains why that matters more than it sounds.

Is a single-sided power meter good enough?

For training against your own numbers week to week, yes — a doubled left-side figure is consistent even if it is not complete. What it cannot give you is left/right balance, because that number is calculated rather than measured. Three of the four products here are single-sided, and the dual-sided one is the cheapest pedal system on the page, which makes the usual “is it worth paying for both sides” question unusually easy.

Is a crank-arm power meter better than pedals?

It is a different commitment rather than a better product. The 4iiii on this page publishes 9 g, a 5.5 mm profile and an 800-hour coin cell, needs no cleat decision, and is bonded to one specific crank arm — so it does not move between bikes. Pedals move in two minutes and force a cleat choice. Our types explainer covers what each mounting position can measure.

Sources

  • Manufacturer specifications and live Amazon listing titles for all four products, as recorded on /components/best-power-meters. Favero Assioma DUO: ±1%, 151.5 g per pedal, 50+ hours per charge, IP67, ANT+ and Bluetooth. Garmin Rally RS210: ±1%, up to 90 hours, 15 minute charge for 12 hours, Shimano SPD-SL pedal bodies. Wahoo POWRLINK Zero: ±1%, up to 75 hours, maximum rider weight 113 kg, left-sided single pedal. 4iiii Precision 3+: ±1%, 9 g and 5.5 mm profile, 800-hour CR2032, left side, Ultegra 8100 172.5 mm arm — retrieved 18 August 2026
  • All four makers publish ±1%. None publishes a test protocol, a reference device, a temperature or load range, or whether the figure is of reading or of full scale. No published third-party validation exists for these specific models that we could locate, so this page makes no accuracy comparison
  • Cleat-standard audit — of the four products, Garmin publishes “Shimano SPD-SL” in the listing title, Wahoo identifies Speedplay by product name, 4iiii is crank-mounted and takes no cleat, and Favero publishes no cleat interface in the listing title or in the manufacturer specifications we hold — retrieved 11 October 2026
  • Google Autocomplete — “assioma vs” returns “assioma vs garmin rally”, “assioma vs rally”, “assioma vs garmin power pedals”, “assioma vs garmin pedals”, “assioma vs 4iiii” and “assioma vs magene” — retrieved 11 October 2026

We haven’t ridden or tested any of the products on this page, and we don’t pretend otherwise. Read how we research — or tell us we’re wrong and we’ll log the correction.